PDA

View Full Version : Dark Heresy

LAZtheinfamous
06-09-2011, 03:09 PM
Well, Eldest Child has gotten a copy of Dark Heresy for his Birthday. I've been flipping through it and it seems...ok. It reads more like a RPG version of Inquisitor (down to the % based system). I've had a lot of experience myself with various RPGs over the years, I posted a list around here somewhere, but I want to know some stuff.

1. How easy is this game to run for a beginning gamemaster/players?
2. It seems like there is more adventures then supplements, and most of them are fluff light. Like the GM kit was more adventures then actual GM advice. Are they any good?
3. Does the game cross over with its sister games (Rogue Trader, and Deathwatch) easily? I bring this up because of the old World Of Darkness games, because while they all had the same base system, in the same world, they did not work well (Mage; the Ascension in particular could destroy anything from Vampire; The Masquerade).
4. There isn't a whole lot to the bestiary. I thought it was odd that there were only Lictors and Genestealers. There does seem to be more in the Deathwatch book (but again, refer to point 3).
5. Is it me, or is it only possible to recreate things from 40K only with a lot of time/levels invested? I was thinking about an Enginseer, but those are not starting characters and I can't even figure out if there are servo arm rules.
6. It also seems like this could be a great start to doing a IG campaign instead of inquisitor based. Half the classes in the book, I mean careers, seem like they are all from the IG codex.
7. I'm not sure I get how rank advancement works. Do I have to collect all the stuff for one rank before moving to the next, or just X amount of XP and then I can open that next rank's stuff?

Arctophylax Faren
06-09-2011, 09:23 PM
Allow me to assist!