PDA

View Full Version : Starting with moria

Old Toby
24-07-2009, 03:18 PM
Hey, i'm just starting out with lotr (most of my friends play it and i'd like to join in) and i really like the look of the moria goblins. They have some cool rules (wall climbing etc.) and some awesome models, especially the monsters!!! I was just wondering what sort of stuff to buy for my first army, and what would be a good points value to start fighting my friends at. Thanks in advance!

Marticus
24-07-2009, 03:25 PM
wel welcome on in to the fold :) mmm goblins! so war of the ring or the stategy game? that makes a diff. what points do your friends play at? though cave trolls are great and drummers too, also in the bigger games the balrogs lethal

Old Toby
24-07-2009, 03:28 PM
Strategy battle game. They don't really have a fixed points value, whatever they feel like playing. I just wanted to know what would be a decent size to start out with

Hephesto
24-07-2009, 03:30 PM
First of welcome to Astro mate, hope you'll have tons of fun here! Moria it is, a very nice force indeed. The big question that comes first for many people seems to be get a Balrog or not. The plastic kit is a pure gem and it definitely is the hardest hitting critter you can get for Moria. But it will also greatly influence the rest of your force as it costs a whole lott of points and is bound to attract almost all ranged attacks your enemy will have.

Now I'm not saying you need to get the Balrog of course, the 'normal' Goblin horde has tons of good stuff. Quick question, from which list are you working? This as some of them have unique characters and access to stuff like Wargs and Spiders.