PDA

View Full Version : the basics

mrmorgan666
13-02-2009, 10:31 PM
as i'm new to the hobby and i know your all a friendly lot i was hoping someone could explain the basics to painting. i.e. high-lighting, over brushing etc.
This would be a great help
Thanks

Mr.

Nomad
14-02-2009, 02:53 AM
The basics I can help with.

Start with a clean model. Give it a rinse in some water with a little washing up liquid and then rinse in clean water. This is particularly important for metal models. Any oils on the model wil prevent the paint bonding properly.

Clean up mould lines. Trim and file to leaves nice finish.

Undercoat with Chaos Black or Skull White. Chaos black will give a darker finish to the paint. If you want vibrant, bright colours for the model, White is the undercoat to use. Spray on or paint on, doesn't really matter. If using white, you will probably have to use several thin coats to get a good base.

Basecoat the model. Paint the various areas of the model with the base colours you wish. This is generally a darker shade of the colour you want the finished area to be, but not always. If you want a vibrant red for example, base coat yellow. Purple is best basecoated Red or Blue, depending in which way you want the shade to go.

Once the base coat is in place, build up your shading until the desired colour is reached. Leave a little of the darker base showing in crevices.

Dry brushing is acieved by dipping the brush in the paint as normal and then wiping off all the paint until only a small amount remains on the brush. Then gently brush the model. Best for rough areas such as hair, mail links and fur, or for edging.

Overbrushing is like drybrushing except a little more paint is left on the bristles.